Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is the central governing body that considers all major DC CFAR scientific or structural changes and makes recommendations to the Director and Co-Directors. The Committee is composed of Core Directors and Co-Directors and Scientific Working Group Leads and Co-Leads who also serve as representatives of their collaborating institutions.

Administrative Core

  • Alan Greenberg, MD , MPH, Core Director, The George Washington University
  • Gary Simon, MD PhD, MACP, Core Co-Director, The George Washington University
  • Patti Simon, MPH, Administrative Director, The George Washington University
  • Brandi Robinson, MPH, Senior Research Program Manager, The George Washington University
  • Lorena Segarra, MPH, Center Associate, The George Washington University
  • Alia Murphy, MPH, Fiscal Manager for the DC CFAR, The George Washington University

Developmental Core

Basic Sciences Core

Clinical and Population Sciences Core

Social and Behavioral Sciences Core

Institutional Representatives

  • Michael Kharfen, Senior Deputy Director, HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis, STD and TB Administration, DC Health
  • Virginia Kan, MD, Acting Chief of Infectious Diseases Section, Veterans Affairs Medical Center
  • Sarah Henn, MD, MPH, Chief Medical Officer, Whitman-Walker Health
  • Natella Rakhmanina, MD, PhD, Director, HIV Services, Division of Infectious Diseases, Children's National Health System

Scientific Working Groups