Announcing the Recipients of the Fall 2020 DC CFAR Pilot Awards

January 14, 2021
The DC CFAR would like to congratulate the recipients of our fall 2020 Pilot Awards. The Pilot Awards Program provides funds to early stage and new HIV/AIDS investigators to assist them in the development of their NIH-funded research careers. Please join us in congratulating the following award recipients!
Pilot Awardees:
Katherine Chiappinelli, PhD, George Washington University: "Generation of a CRISPR/Cas9 system to silence latent HIV”
Thomas Heinbockel, PhD, Howard University: "HIV Tat Protein in CB1 Receptor-Mediated Signaling in Central Olfactory Circuits"
Ruth Kanthula, MD, MPH, Georgetown University: "Prevalence of subclinical
atherosclerosis among female adolescent and young adults with perinatally acquired HIV infection"
Chul Kim, MD, MPH, Georgetown University: "Evaluation of immune microenvironement in patients with non-small-cell lung cancer and HIV infection"
To read the study abstracts and learn more about the Pilot Awards Program, please visit the DC CFAR website.